About Renaissance Percussion Ensemble

The Renaissance Percussion ensemble was founded in 2005 and comprises percussion soloists from the Mariinsky Orchestra. In 2005 the ensemble gave its first concert performances in Russia and abroad and won 1st prize at the International Rachmaninov Ensembles’ Competition in St Petersburg. In 2012, seven years later, the ensemble again took 1st prize at the same competition.

Today the ensemble’s repertoire includes works from various eras and styles. One of the ensemble’s priorities is performing music by Russian and European classical composers in arrangements for melodic percussion instruments written by members of the ensemble Vladislav Ivanov and Arseny Shuplyakov.

The ensemble regularly performs at the Mariinsky Theatre stages as a part of the subscription series.

Arseny Shuplyakov was born in Leningrad in 1982. In 2005 he graduated from the St Petersburg State Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory as a percussionist (class of Sergei Antoshkin). Since 2015 he has studied with the conservatory’s conducting faculty (class of Vladimir Altschuler).

In 2005 together with Vladislav Ivanov he founded the Renaissance Percussion ensemble. In 2005 and 2012 he was a prize-winner, together with the ensemble, at the International Rachmaninoff Competition.

Arseny performs with the Mariinsky Brass Orchestra and joined the Marinsky Orchestra in 2000, becoming the timpani soloist in 2013.

He has composed several works for percussion instruments including Not in the Brazilian Style, In the Embraces of the Desert, 7/8 and Lake Chad as well as various transcriptions for percussion ensemble. In 2001he performed with Pierre Moerlen and the ensemble Gong at Sergey Kuryokhin’s SKIF festival.

Together with the Mariinsky Orchestra he has toured more than thirty countries and collaborated with such conductors as Esa-Pekka Salonen, Neeme Järvi, Paavo Järvi, Krzysztof Penderecki, Christoph Eschenbach, Yuri Bashmet, Plácido Domingo, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Justus Frantz, Pierre Boulez and Tugan Sokhiev.

Since 2016 he is the  conductor of the stage wind band of the Mariinsky Theatre.

Vladislav Ivanov was born in St. Petersburg to a musical family. He studied at the St Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory (percussion instrument class of Professor A.V. Ivanov). While still a student at the conservatory, he began to work with the Symphony Orchestra of the St Petersburg Academic Cappella and the St Petersburg Chamber Opera Company. Since 2004 he has been a member of the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra.

Vladislav Ivanov frequently performs in chamber ensembles and he has appeared in concerts and recordings with the ensembles Vivat, Percussion!, the Saint-Petersburg Percussion Group, Russian Brass and the Mariinsky Theatre Brass Quintet. Since 2005 he has performed with the percussion ensemble of the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra which won 1st prize at the 2012 Sergei Rachmaninoff Ensembles’ Competition in St Petersburg.

In addition to performing, Vladislav Ivanov produces arrangements of symphony and chamber music for brass quintets and “full brass” orchestras. He has produced transcriptions of Borodin’s Polovtsian Dances, The Dance of the Jesters from Rimsky-Korsakov’s opera The Snow Maiden and Ravel’s Pavane pour une infante défunte. The Mariinsky Theatre Brass Ensemble regularly performs Ivanov’s transcription of Shostakovich’s Festive Overture. Vladislav Ivanov has also written arrangements of various works for percussion instruments, both independently and partnered with vocals, piano and brass instruments.

Watch some of Ensemble’s performances

Additional information


Arensky – String Quartet No. 2, Op. 35

Beethoven – String quartet No. 4, Op. 18

Borodin – String Quartet No. 1, A-dur

BorodinString Quartet No. 2, D-dur

Colla – String Quartet No. 3, Hyperthematic (2013)

Haydn – Complete

Glazunov – String Quartet No. 5, d-moll, Op. 70

Grieg – String Quartet No. 1, g-moll, Op. 27

Mozart – Complete

Mendelssohn – String Quartet No. 2, Op. 13

Paganini – Caprices for violin solo, Op. 1 No. 1, 17, 20, 24

Prokofiev – String Quartet No. 1, b-moll, Op. 50

Prokofiev – String Quartet No. 2, F-dur, Op. 92

Rachmaninov – String Quartet No. 1, D-dur

Rachmaninov – String Quartet No. 2, g-moll

Ravel – String Quartet in F-Dur

Schubert – String quartet No. 12

Schubert – String quartet No. 14

Shostakovich – Complete

Shostakovich Two pieces (Polka and elegy) , Op. 36

Tchaikovsky – String Quartet No. 1, D-dur, Op. 11

Tchaikovsky String Quartet No. 2, F-dur, Op. 22

Tchaikovsky String Quartet No. 3, es-moll, Op. 30

Piano Quintets – Complete

Watch full concert

Watch full concert

Photo/Video credit: